2658 East Main Road | Portsmouth, RI | 02871 | (401) 683-9457 | Hours

Adult Events

Thursday, January 28
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett via Zoom.  This book is a RI Teen Book Award honor book for 2020.  Books are available to borrow at the library.  Send an email to porlibteen@gmail.com... Read More
Wednesday, February 03
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Enslaved African-Americans of colonial Rhode Island lived and worked, and even sometimes prayed and played next to their white masters; however, with few if any basic human and civil rights, without ownership of their own bodies and destinies, their... Read More
Tuesday, February 09
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Are you finding yourself with more and more tasks to do, yet there’s never enough time to get everything done? Are you stumped about how to accommodate kids, spouse and yourself, learning and working virtually from home at the same time, or in ... Read More
Wednesday, February 10
6:30pm - 7:30pm
The American Revolution was a partial revolution: It promised the protection of unalienable rights to some, but not all, Americans. Enslaved African-Americans were essentially disregarded. The lecture will cover the period from the beginning of the... Read More
Monday, February 15
9:00am - 8:00pm
The Library is Closed today.  We will reopen on Tuesday Feb. 16 at 9 am.
Tuesday, February 16
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us virtually as we discuss American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins.   Jeanine Cummins's ... Read More
Thursday, February 25
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert via Zoom.  Explore 1929 New Orleans with this mystery that takes place in a speakeasy in the French Quarter.  Books are available to borrow at the library.  Send an email to... Read More
Tuesday, March 16
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us virtually as we discuss The Overstory by Richard Powers. Multi-award winning novel of activism and natural-world power presents... Read More
Thursday, March 25
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss Horrid ... Read More
Monday, April 19
7:00pm - 8:00pm
Crisp spring mornings teeming with the anticipation of sunrise contain a beautiful surprise to the observant eye. The sky dance of the American woodcock (photo by Gerry Krausse) is one of the earliest and most theatrical signs of spring. Learn all... Read More
Tuesday, April 20
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us virtually as we discuss The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes. Based on a true story rooted in America’s... Read More
Thursday, April 29
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss The Blossom... Read More
Thursday, May 27
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss Clap When You... Read More
Monday, May 31
9:00am - 8:00pm
The Library is Closed today.  We will reopen on Tuesday June 1 at 9 am.
Thursday, June 24
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss The Left-... Read More
Thursday, July 29
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss The Silence... Read More
Thursday, August 26
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss They Called... Read More
Thursday, September 30
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss The Enigma... Read More
Thursday, October 28
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss Rebel Spy... Read More
Thursday, November 18
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss The Sun is... Read More
Thursday, December 16
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Join us as we discuss This Light Between Us by Andrew Fukuda via Zoom.  Join us as we discuss this story of pen pals, one in France and the other in Washington state, during WWII.  Books are available to borrow at the library.  Send an... Read More