2658 East Main Road | Portsmouth, RI | 02871 | (401) 683-9457 | Hours

Students Databases

Scholarly resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Biography Reference Bank is an essential full-text database for biographical research in any discipline, such as women’s studies, cultural studies, media studies and more.

A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. 

Access easy-to-understand consumer health and medical information. Provides basic medical definitions and basic overviews of health-related topics.

A single search box for direct access to full-text content available through AskRI EBSCO databases.

Magazine, newspaper and professional journal articles, general reference books, primary source documents, and more. 
Includes Consumer Reports.

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. Click on the top left, Search All Databases, to find ERIC.

Explora for Everyone is a new interface for the general public that simultaneously searches 20 EBSCO databases for an easy one stop search.

EBSCO’s research database for students K-5 is the replacement for Searchasaurus and Kids Search and features colorful pictures and school subject categories for easy browsing.

Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia, with alphabetically arranged articles, illustrations and maps. Updated annually.

Fifteen reference e-books covering topics including film, literature, law, and medicine.  Always available!

Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.

Learning Express Library offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings.

Comprehensive literary database, with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. It combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs.

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. 

Includes a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Covers hundreds of topics and includes an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

Full text of popular, elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).  Includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, with easy-to-read entries written specifically for kids.

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

The World Book web site offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.